Manifesto and screen play Eliana

Manifesto.

I like artifacts that go with me and not things that I have to follow.

I like living my life everyday and using technology to be more present.

I like nature in the way that I can feel I have the chance to be present.

I like to feel alive and with a body.

Artifacts and me, we both don´t like screens.

I love physical movement and I love to discover things because I have tried them and not because I have the information.

I love artifacts that make me feel relevant and not that make me feel I am an obsolete human being.

I like to make that my actions and artifacts become meaningful.

I like “user” creativity and not user usability.

The best artifact is the one that helps you be present , that supplies significant experiences and not fast meaningless sensations.

I am for sportive objects that invite you to move.

I like artifacts that don´t reduce time, but make it meaningful.

Space has been asimilated by digital media so that we live in a liquid geography, but time is still our anxiety.

Anxiety is an error of machines that forget about time, anxiety is not our error.

When you share with an object you share with a whole chain of people that are involved, therefore in a way this should be also a place for reciprocal communication.

How I see the perfect end of the project:

We will develop a concept that will take us to design  project involving  lifestyle or new understanding of things. In this I will focus in making objects that require physical activity to activate them. Juan pablo will focus in DIY of this same objects. Stefan will perhaps built a parallel dimention of how these objects may become a tangible story, a fiction that could be also recorded by frido and made into a playful propaganda of our new set of objects, toguether with workshops to built them with your personal requirements.

With this project, we would develop a wireless technology for energy that will lead us both to write scientific papers about it, sell products and travel doing workshops promoting the new DIY update.

From that I will start a bussiness that will be pioneer in my country about tourism and presence based slow technology design.

 

 References:

Slow Technology. In: Redström, Johan. Designing Everyday computational things. Göteborg University. 2001.  161 -191.

“A key issue in slow technology, as a desing philosophy, is that we should use slowness in learning, understanding and presence to give people time to think and reflect. Using such an object should not be time consuming, but time productive; we should get time for new reflective activities. It is not technology for compressing time to do give tasks, but technology supplying time for doing new things. I t is technology that is useless for fast and impressive demos; to see what it is takes time”. 167

About Process Art (in wiki)

 Process art is an artistic movement as well as a creative sentiment and world view where the end product of art and craft, the objet d’art, is not the principal focus. The ‘process’ in process art refers to the process of the formation of art: the gathering, sorting, collating, associating, and patterning. Process art is concerned with the actual doing; seeing the art as pure human expression. Process art often entails an inherent motivation, rationale, and intentionality. Therefore, art is viewed as a creative journey or process, rather than as a deliverable or end product.


Posted on May 6, 2011, in Corredor. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

